Coin Community Forum Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest! Check out our Google+!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Why/When to Join a Coin Club  

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
United States
31 Posts
 Posted 03/20/2017  6:35 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add Tylosaurus to your friends list Get a Link to this Message

I have been collecting for a few years now and am starting to consider coin clubs, but I don't really know what a coin club offers or any of that other than the opportunity to meet other collectors. I've asked around, but never really seemed to get a straight answer other than join ANA or something of the like. What I really want to know about are clubs that are local and host events from time to time and meetings every month. Is it worth it? Thanks in advance.
Valued Member
Learn More...
United States
341 Posts
 Posted 03/20/2017  6:46 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Alpha2814 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
The real answer to your question probably depends on where you are. I looked into this as well, and neither of the local club offerings really appealed to me.

I'm in San Francisco, where there are apparently two clubs in my city. (There are others in the Bay Area, but not local enough to interest me.) As I recall, one of the local clubs meets quarterly at a large-ish gathering on some weeknight, where the topics are on the high end (e.g. ancients). The other club meets monthly at a restaurant in a residential area, around lunchtime on a weekday, when it would be virtually impossible for me to go (I'm not a foodie either, so this sort of meeting would be challenging).