Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Coin Community Forum
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

1797 Draped Bust Dollar

Next Page    
To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

United States
6 Posts
 Posted 03/24/2011  12:01 pm Show Profile Bookmark this topic Add mmmanx to your friends list Get a Link to this Message

Hi,
I am new to collecting and am hoping someone can tell me if a 1797 Draped Bust Dollar was ever minted with 8 stars on the left and 7 stars on the right. I am being told they were produced at the beginning of 1797 before the coin was switched to include the 16th state with the 10x6 & 9x7 star versions. I need to know if the 8x7 star version is a possible fake.

Pillar of the Community
United States
1596 Posts
 Posted 03/24/2011  12:35 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add ExoGuy to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Welcome aboard!

Checked Breen's encyclopedia on this one as it's a date I've neither owned nor studied. No such animal exists. They're either 10x6 or 9x7 1797's. Thus, in all probability, it's a fake ... Chinese counterfeit? Try weighing it. Is the edge lettered or reeded? If it's reeded, it's an obvious fake. You can also try the ring test.

United States
6 Posts
 Posted 03/24/2011  6:41 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add mmmanx to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Thank you for the reply. This coin has the correct wording around the edge along with some marks between the unit. It weighs out to 26.96 grams. Frustrating it could be a fake. Very lovely coin. If the ring test is not too complicated to explain...would you mind explaining it to me.
Thanks again!
Learn More...
United States
14274 Posts