Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

How Does NGC Grading Work?

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 11 / Views: 939Next Topic  
Valued Member
United Kingdom
147 Posts
 Posted 08/09/2022  12:15 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add Kipster to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Afternoon all,

Just a quick question regarding NGC grading (perhaps grading in general). I have recently acquired a nice 1927 proof Wreath Crown that I would like to have graded. It's waiting to go, but wanted to check something before I bother getting it sent off.

I have no experience of these types of things, but as this is my most expensive coin to date, I wanted to make sure that I keep it as safe as possible and tuck it away.

I have recently seen a couple of coins up for sale that have been slabbed by NGC as 'UNC Details - Scratch on reverse', or similar. Does that mean that even if there is a minor blemish on the coin it is detailed? I can understand if it was 'cleaned' etc, but a scratch?

My coin is pretty much as struck, but has a tiny little ding above the D in IND (image attached). Is this going to be graded noting that as detailed or not?

Grateful for any advice
Pillar of the Community
United States
5632 Posts
 Posted 08/09/2022  1:45 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add kanga to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
It should straight grade -- but you didn't show us the obverse so don't know for sure.
Describe it as if there were no picture.
Picture it as if there were no description.
Valued Member
United States
471 Posts