Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Live Coin auctions starting as low as $1
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

1986 D Nickel With Glue Or Something On It I Thought Was An Error & [:(]

Next Page | Last 15 Replies

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 19 / Views: 646Next Topic
Page: of 2

United States
5 Posts
 Posted 10/02/2022  6:54 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add Brian9424 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
I am relatively new to looking through change to find rare coins and came across a nickel with severe differences. I attached a photo to show what I am talking about. I am wondering if there is a chance this could happen from the mint or is this definetly a post production error coin. Its raised severely and even has a letter that seems depressed on the top right and missing (the P in "Pluribus,') I thought I would post it and see what this forum thought. I am suspecting heat damage but am not knowledgable enough to know if it could be a mint caused issue or is after the fact. Thanks for taking the time to check it out!

Edited by Brian9424
10/02/2022 10:49 pm
Pillar of the Community
United States
2172 Posts
 Posted 10/02/2022  6:55 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add nick10 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
looks like something stuck to the coin, glue perhaps?
Bedrock of the Community
Learn More...
United States
73559 Posts
 Posted 10/02/2022  6:57 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Coinfrog to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Please show us the obverse of this coin.

to the CCF!
Learn More...
United States
25481 Posts