Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

1950 Wheat Penny Weighs 2.78 Grams

First Page
Showing last 15 replies.

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 16 / Views: 597Next Topic Page 2 of 2
Pillar of the Community
United States
4231 Posts
 Posted 01/18/2021  10:36 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Greasy Fingers to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Is there a list of years that the Philly mint minted coins for foreign Nations? If any of those coins were copper and similar in weight? But that's a big long "rabbit hole" to go down.....Just a thought...
I'm by no means a pro and will never claim to be...just my 2 cents
A smile costs nothing to give or receive....GF
If it's not hockey, it's not a sport
Pillar of the Community
Learn More...
United States
1675 Posts
 Posted 01/18/2021  11:17 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Rothery to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
How about it just being as simple as the coin blank sheet was rolled too thin to begin with? And all the blanks punched from it were undersized.
Everything can change in just one day.........

Best Lincoln roll find & Nicest WOODY find

"If there are no dogs in Heaven, then when I die I want to go where they went." - Will Rogers
Valued Member
United States
137 Posts
 Posted 01/18/2021  11:25 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Yorkish to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Because I'd rather chase down the complicated option and find out it's not that, than take the lazy way out and never discover what it actually is. Maybe it is just a thin planchet. Except its the same thickness as every other 1950 Wheat penny in my stash.
Edited by Yorkish