Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Ancient Coin - Antoninianus

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
Bedrock of the Community
United States
11933 Posts
 Posted 07/24/2014  11:02 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add GR58 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Last of the coins I bought today.

It has some green on it, but I wanted one of this ruler.
I will try to treat some of these coins in the coming days.

Antoninianus
2.9 grams

Pillar of the Community
United States
513 Posts
 Posted 07/24/2014  11:25 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add chuy1530 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
I'm no expert, but I'm not seeing any bronze disease on this one. It's usually a brighter color and will flake or powder off. That appears to me to just be the patina which shouldn't be taken off. I like the portrait.
Bedrock of the Community
Australia
16671 Posts
 Posted 07/24/2014  11:36 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add sel_69l to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Looking at the face this piece appears to be a nice enough coin, but considering at it's value in the overall scene of ancient coins, I wouldn't feel personally highly motivated to do much to it; just keep it the way it is.

Just let it take it's place in album page for the 2x2 it is currently in.
Pillar of the Community
United Kingdom
1723 Posts
 Posted 07/25/2014  07:47 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add maridvnvm to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
The coin looks to be even more interesting than just a standard Postumus coin as it would appear to be one that was struck in the name of Postumus by Aureolus.
Pillar of the Community