Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

New Ancient Coin Collector

Next Page

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2
United States
13 Posts
 Posted 12/11/2014  10:47 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add MW_O to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Hello,
I'm new to ancient coins. What got me interested was someone's profile picture of a silver greek drachma. Those struck me as particuly interesting. I have a small budget, so do you guys have ideas on what to start out my collection with?

Thanks,
MW
Pillar of the Community
3772 Posts
 Posted 12/11/2014  10:58 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Medieval to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply

It is best that you look around to find your special coin, ie the one to start your ancient collection. There are probably as many different opinions as there are collectors on what would be the ideal start. So I will refrain from specifying anything particular.

You mention that you have a small budget. So you have two key options:
1. start with a low budget coin, there are quite a few Roman coins which fall into that range
2. save up for some time and get one of those Greek Drachmai you like

(Always watch out for fakes though.)
Pillar of the Community
United States
4732 Posts
 Posted 12/11/2014  11:37 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add chrsmat71 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply

I would stick with vcoins if you are new to ancients and want to dive right in to silver greek coins. You'll pay a bit more (maybe), but you'll get a real ancient coin.