Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

How Long Too Soak In Olive Oil?

Next Page

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2
Pillar of the Community
United States
767 Posts
 Posted 12/26/2014  8:11 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add scottk to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
I've never done this before. I got 10 uncleaned Roman coins in the mail today. I read that some people here only use distilled water, and others use olive oil. It seemed appropriate to begin with olive oil since the coins from an Italian city .

I've had them soaking in a little glass with about a centimeter of olive oil in it for 5-6 hours now. Should I wait til tomorrow to try toothbrushing them? Several days? Weeks?

Also, how bad would it be to use tap water on them instead of distilled water?
Edited by scottk
12/26/2014 8:20 pm
Learn More...
United States
22904 Posts
 Posted 12/26/2014  8:23 pm  Show Profile   Check echizento's eBay Listings Bookmark this reply Add echizento to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
It all depends on the about of dirt on them, If not too much a few days or so. If a lot than it may be months. I'm one of those that prefer to use olive oil over distilled water. Overall I say the the olive oil is faster than the distilled water. The only draw back if you want to call it that is that in olive oil the coins tend to darken a bit. Over the years I experimented with different grades of oil. The best is the high grade extra virgin type.
Pillar of the Community
3772 Posts
 Posted 12/26/2014  8:27 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Medieval to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply