Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Newbie Coin Collector

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

United States
16 Posts
 Posted 12/19/2007  01:11 am Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add maltuna to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Hi all,

I'm new to coin collecting (started in September of this year, formally).

I have two silver dimes and one silver quarter that I saved from childhood, and a horror story about ruining my mom's silver half-dollar collection by rolling them on the ground when I found them and took them to school to play with friends at the age of 6 or so. But that's it for my early encountes with coins besides spending them on candy the the corner drug store as a kid.

Now I'm trying to learn how to know what I'm buying. Reading books, reading online stuff, but little helps without seeing real coins. I try to see them as much as I can. Or maybe I'm going about it in the wrong way. Or, of course I am.

I started with a shiny, beautiful mint state FH standing liberty 1917 type 1 quarter because (I hate to admit it) I just thought the woman was very beautiful, and I loved the stone behind her. And the eagle was just great. Flying in a very valiant way, or so it seemed to me.

When I got the coin home, I noticed some things that seem like very serious flaws. But I'm not one to blame others for my mistakes, so I decided to start a little more economically, where I can buy coins at a lower cost, and start with being able to judge those properly. But maybe that's a silly illusion, to think that I can learn to judge older coins by judging newer ones.