Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Coin Storage Question

Next Page | Last 15 Replies

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 18 / Views: 938Next Topic
Page: of 2
Valued Member
United States
171 Posts
 Posted 11/02/2020  12:58 am Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add Morgan Nerd to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Hey guys! I have been using a Sentry Fire Safe for over 5 years for coin storage. These safes are notorious for having moisture problems. However I have never had such issues; I air out my safe once per week and use 40 grams of silica gel.

But I have become kind of paranoid about moisture and have moved all my coins out of the safe. I now keep them in Sterilite PVC-free plastic storage bins. I was also running out of space in my safe. My collection value does not exceed $2,000. Do you think a safe is really necessary for my coins? I keep the storage bins, along with albums and slab boxes, on a shelf in my closet.
Bedrock of the Community
Australia
18425 Posts
 Posted 11/02/2020  04:12 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add sel_69l to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
In a moist environment, you may have more of a problem with risk of rust to the springs in the lock,
than the threat to the coins themselves.

Is there a possibility that you can move your safe to a less moist environment within your dwelling?
Still use your safe, just put you coins in clip lock polyethylene bags size to meet your own requirements.
Just include small packets of silica gel in the cliplock bags.

Just make sure that the lock mechanism is regularly. lubricated with WD40 or similar, to inhibit rust of the springs.