Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

1 Cent 1985 Double Die?

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 7 / Views: 301Next Topic  

Switzerland
16 Posts
 Posted 03/07/2021  05:25 am Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add Bvlro6 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Hello!

I have found this 1 cent 1985 D, which might have a doubling of the "D" letter mint mark (no doubling elsewhere). I am not an expert in errors, in fact I just started looking into those and I am currently learning about them. So, it is difficult for me to say if this is indeed a double die or something else.

I would really appreciate if somebody with more experience could take a look at the attached pictures and let me know what they think.

The "doubling" around the D letter is a bit puzzling to me. It has a different color compared to the rest of the coin. Is it something else? maybe dirt of some kind?

Thank you for all your help!

Pillar of the Community
Learn More...
United States
2814 Posts
 Posted 03/07/2021  06:28 am  Show Profile   Check Yokozuna's eBay Listings Bookmark this reply Add Yokozuna to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
to the CCF!

Your coin is showing Split Plate Doubling. This happens on copper plated zinc cents when the strike pressure splits the copper layer and exposes the zinc core underneath. It's common and doesn't add any value and it's not true doubling.

Good question on your part and REALLY nice photography!
"Shine, shine a Roosevelt dime. All the way to Baltimore and runnin' out of time." Tom Waits-Clap Hands

Switzerland
16 Posts