Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

1658 Cromwell Shilling

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 14 / Views: 622Next Topic  
Valued Member
United Kingdom
200 Posts
 Posted 04/04/2021  05:19 am Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add Collector28 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Hi,

I am posting this on behalf of a friend. They have had this coin in their possession for some time now, and want to discover more about it. It was discovered in an old tin.

I'm not an expert on Cromwell currency, though believe it to be a shilling. I'd like to know whether you all think it is genuine, and if so how she would go about selling it?

The diameter is 28mm, and the weight is approximately 6g on her scales.

Many thanks
Bedrock of the Community
Australia
18425 Posts
 Posted 04/04/2021  05:59 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add sel_69l to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
At six grams weight, it has to be a Shilling.
Pillar of the Community
United Kingdom
602 Posts
 Posted 04/05/2021  04:46 am  Show Profile   Check PaddyB's eBay Listings Bookmark this reply Add PaddyB to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
I have been waiting and hoping someone with more knowledge would chip in, but as that has not happened yet, I will add my pennyworth.

I am certainly no expert on the Cromwell coins - they are so rare I have never had the pleasure of owning one. This coin looks very attractive, but one has to be wary as there are so many copies and fakes of these, both old and new.