Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

1969-D Lincoln Penny

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 10 / Views: 305Next Topic  

Brazil
21 Posts
 Posted 04/05/2021  09:55 am Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add rcavalcanti7 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Hello everyone,
I'm just learning about possible errors in coins, and this 1969-D Lincoln Penny caught my attention.

Could this be a floating roof with a weakened FG or this is due to the poor condition of the coin?

Learning a lot from reading the forum, thanks to all.

Pillar of the Community
United States
1331 Posts
 Posted 04/05/2021  09:58 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Dearborn to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
to CCF

It looks like a floating roof, can you post up a few images close up of either end of the roof areas?
Collecting since 1972. Learning from then on
"Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn." -Benjamin Franklin
My Dansco 7070 type set coin count: 31/76
My Dansco 8176 Eisenhower set coin count: 36/36
Brazil
21 Posts
 Posted 04/05/2021  10:07 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add rcavalcanti7 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Thanks for answering.
I hope these are better.
Was the closest I could get with my phone.

Bedrock of the Community
Learn More...
United States
56880 Posts
 Posted 04/05/2021  10:16 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Coinfrog to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
The "floating roof" is caused by excessive die polishing.

to the CCF!
Pillar of the Community
Canada
736 Posts