Coin Community Family of Web Sites
YourCoinBox is offering a stress free way to appraise and sell your coins from the comfort of your home. Our goal is to create an ultra transparent and no pressure experience for finding out what your coins are worth and what to do with them.
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Use Of Coin Terms In The English Language

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 14 / Views: 437Next Topic  
Pillar of the Community
United Kingdom
1919 Posts
 Posted 06/22/2021  7:06 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add Pertinax to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
As well as being a numismatist, I'm a writer in a group of writers in various genres and of varying experience who meet together in Kelso, Scotland, to help people to improve their writing skills and to help people begin writing fiction and to reduce social isolation.

One of our writers has written a story set in the US in the mid-19th century. In the story, the wife had an accident and needs care from the doctor. She recovers enough to be a wife but needs more care which her husband isn't willing to pay for. She tells her friend "John won't pay another penny".

That would be perfectly understood in Britain but would it be in the USA?

I realise that you call your cents, pennies and I imagine that's a hangover from the 19th century or earlier, but would people use the word "penny" in that sense?

Another writer is wondering what the phrase "not a red cent more" means. Am I correct in thinking that a red cent is a newly-minted cent (as in MS 64 RD)?
Life Fellow, Royal Numismatic Society

My wants list: http://goccf.com/t/283145
Learn More...
United States
20057 Posts