Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

(George III Half Penny) Colonial Or Evasion?

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 9 / Views: 460Next Topic  

Italy
5 Posts
 Posted 08/01/2021  06:11 am Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add TheKingZito to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Hello!
I recently bought this George III half penny for a few dollars. (I checked weight and dimensions, they coincide as per catalog).
The coin is very damaged, but some details are still visible. In your opinion, was it minted by the Mint of England or is it an Amerian copy used during the revolution?
I am not an expert on this currency!

Pillar of the Community
Canada
4231 Posts
 Posted 08/01/2021  07:17 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add oriole to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Most of the evasion tokens were minted in England for use in England; there is nothing particularly American about them.

The evasion tokens have nonsensical or garbled legends (deliberately). These are too worn for me to read in this picture, but perhaps you can do so in hand.
Pillar of the Community
United States
1182 Posts
 Posted 08/01/2021  09:40 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Ballyhoo to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Looks very much like a 1775 George III Half-penny from Great Britain.
ANA member
PAN Member
BCCS Member

There are no problems only solutions - the late, great John Lennon
Pillar of the Community
United States
2385 Posts
 Posted 08/01/2021  11:26 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Oldfordman to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply

Quote:
Looks very much like a 1775 George III Half-penny from Great Britain.