Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Tiny Ae Coin ID Help 1 - Parthian?

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 4 / Views: 169Next Topic  
Pillar of the Community

Russian Federation
3673 Posts
 Posted 09/29/2021  9:06 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add january1may to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
I've bought a bunch of ancients recently, and will probably be posting some of them for ID in the next few days and/or weeks.

Starting with two tiny bronze coins... this one is the smaller of the two, at least in diameter.

Fairly sure it's Parthian, but I'm not very good at Parthian AE fractions. Do they even get that small?

9x8 mm. Misplaced my scale, so can't give weight at the moment. Sorry for photo quality, that thing's tiny.
Pillar of the Community
United States
6063 Posts
 Posted 09/29/2021  9:55 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Bob L to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Yes, Parthian. Likely a Sellwood 53.19, Phraates IV chalkous. Archer/legend reverse.
Pillar of the Community
Russian Federation
3673 Posts
 Posted 09/29/2021  10:04 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add january1may to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Thanks! From the online pictures, that looks like a match.

You say "likely"; are there other similar types?
Pillar of the Community
United States
6063 Posts
 Posted 09/29/2021  10:24 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Bob L to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply