Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

1948 Australian Half Penny Errors

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 15 / Views: 495Next Topic  
Valued Member
Australia
84 Posts
 Posted 05/22/2022  11:11 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add debono to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Hi all. Is this what is called a partial collar error? There is also what looks like ghosting although not sure if that will show up in photo. Are these of value in this grade?
many thanks

Valued Member
Learn More...
Australia
195 Posts
 Posted 05/23/2022  12:25 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add ttkoo to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
I'm no expert in anything but there is some weakness in the strike of the tail, the K of KG and the first leg of H.

While there is some ghosting evident on the reverse, there is also an interesting double line under the roo, like the start of another leg. it's not ghosting or a die clash that I can see, but others may give a better explanation.

Also a vertical line from T to R in AUSTRALIA, but that may be just some crud or stain, difficult to tell from the photo resolution.

But thanks for posting. (I do like a good error!)
The Ox moves slowly, but the Earth is patient.
Valued Member
Learn More...
Australia
195 Posts
 Posted 05/23/2022  12:27 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add ttkoo to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
And looking at the obverse, the weak strike is evident. Maybe a filled die
Valued Member
Australia
84 Posts
 Posted 05/23/2022  12:51 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add debono to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Thanks for the reply ttkoo.