Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Live Coin auctions starting as low as $1
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

1924-D And 1927-D, Worn Die?

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 15 / Views: 501Next Topic  

United States
39 Posts
 Posted 08/13/2022  01:01 am Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add Plantguy396 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
I'm still learning to differentiate mushy design elements. Are these coins the result of worn dies? Any help is appreciated!

Learn More...
United States
25501 Posts
 Posted 08/13/2022  02:04 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Spence to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
@plan, with this amount of circulation wear, I think that it is going to be difficult to distinguish between normal wear patterns and an advanced die state during the striking nearly 100 years ago. With that said, it is very common for the rim and tops of the letters to merge as the coin gets very worn.
"If you climb a good tree, you get a push."
-----Ghanaian proverb

"The danger we all now face is distinguishing between what is authentic and what is performed."
-----King Adz
Valued Member
United States
441 Posts
 Posted 08/13/2022  06:23 am  Show Profile   Check bugil46's eBay Listings Bookmark this reply Add bugil46 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Pillar of the Community
United States
1973 Posts
 Posted 08/13/2022  07:04 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add mrwhatisit to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Spence said it good, if I were to posit grades on these, a net G-6 for the 24-D, and as high as a F-15 for the 27-D.
Pillar of the Community
United States
3402 Posts