Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Coin Community Forum
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Trying to Pin down when this FAKE Mexican Peso was made

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
Pillar of the Community
United States
777 Posts
 Posted 01/18/2012  4:04 pm Show Profile Check ilikeikes's eBay Listings Bookmark this topic Add ilikeikes to your friends list Get a Link to this Message

I collect contemporary counterfeits,(not modern, or fantasy coins), and am wondering if this fake 1908 Peso looks NEw or "old"...hard for me to tell whether this is a newish chinese spinoff..I'm new to all of this, so, learning a lot. Remember, we KNOW its a fake..just want to know old or new, that's all/
Thanks
CG

My PCGS 5 Oz. ATB SP Registry Set:
http://www.pcgs.com/SetRegistry/pub...spx?s=121760
Redwood Empire Coin Club#788
ANA#3144406

Pillar of the Community
United States
777 Posts
 Posted 01/18/2012  5:07 pm  Show Profile Check ilikeikes's eBay Listings Bookmark this reply Add ilikeikes to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Thinking here(dangerous, I know)--perhaps this IS an old fake..SUPPOSED to be silver, and, maybe the silver wash has worn away with time, exposing the base metal..which would make new chinese out..I have an 1823 fake GB half-crown, with just a tad of silver wash on it, after all the years of circulation...it's a beautiful "real" fake I got in a lot sale from ebay last month.
opinions needed.
Ty
ANA#3144406

Pillar of the Community
United States
3366 Posts
 Posted 01/18/2012  6:10 pm  Show Profile Check swamperbob's eBay Listings Bookmark this reply Add swamperbob to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply