Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Coin Community Forum
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Quarter 1958 Proof ?

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
Valued Member
Netherlands
384 Posts
 Posted 02/18/2012  09:23 am Show Profile Bookmark this topic Add Sander to your friends list Get a Link to this Message

Recently I bought a lot of silver quarters.. I have zero experience with US proof coins, so nothing to compare.. Is this 1958 a proof or a very nice business strike?

Valued Member
United States
342 Posts
 Posted 02/18/2012  10:12 am  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add td5173 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Looks to be a Proof to me.
Pillar of the Community
United States
3179 Posts
 Posted 02/18/2012  10:22 am  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add upstate to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
It does look mirror like under that haze.
It would be nice if you could get rid of the haze without
ruining the original surface of the piece.
Pillar of the Community
United States
5268 Posts
 Posted 02/18/2012  11:06 am  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add D0ubl3Eagle to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
It looks like a proof. You could try acetone but if you do try to do anything be careful as the surfaces are delicate.
Rest in Peace
United States
9104 Posts
 Posted 02/18/2012  11:39 am  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add biggfredd to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Haze, but nicely frosted. Potentially worth hundreds if conserved and slobbed as deep cameo.
Pillar of the Community
917 Posts
 Posted 02/18/2012  2:45 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add LincolnGuy to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply

Quote:
Haze, but nicely frosted. Potentially worth hundreds if conserved and slobbed as deep cameo.