Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Coin Community Forum
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

JPEG vs BMP?

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
Bedrock of the Community
United States
11186 Posts
 Posted 02/19/2012  11:44 am Show Profile Bookmark this topic Add John1 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message

Is there a difference? Is one better then the other when taking photos of coins and then putting them on photobucket to post them here? Thanks for the help,
John1

( I'm no pro, it's just my humble opinion )
Pillar of the Community
United States
3904 Posts
 Posted 02/19/2012  11:59 am  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add CaptainFwiffo to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
For photos you usually want JPEG. There may be specific circumstances where you want a losslessly compressed format like PNG, but you never ever ever ever ever want BMP.
Pillar of the Community
United States
4252 Posts
 Posted 02/19/2012  12:00 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add TheNickelGuy to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
I liked this explanation.

BMP files are generally huge so there might be a problem there rather than using a JPG file. There can be some loss when converting to downsize the file but generally, our human eyes don't pick up much of a difference. ( especially mine anymore )
Valued Member
India
78 Posts
 Posted 02/19/2012  12:03 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add drkrish21 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
JPEG for photos...
Valued Member
United States
290 Posts
 Posted 02/19/2012  12:35 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add Piffin to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply