Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Coin Community Forum
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

1944 W Dime

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
United States
17 Posts
 Posted 02/23/2012  6:20 pm Show Profile Bookmark this topic Add Dollardime to your friends list Get a Link to this Message

I am a manager at a major retailer. One of my cashiers received this from a customer. She thought it was a Canadian coin and was going to literally throw it away. I may be a total novice but I sure recognize a Mercury dime when I see one.

Pillar of the Community
United States
6039 Posts
 Posted 02/23/2012  6:34 pm  Show Profile Check oih82w8's eBay Listings Bookmark this reply Add oih82w8 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
I think that the "W" you are referring to on the obverse are the designers initials AW for Adolph Weinman.

The mint mark would be on the reverse between the the fasces and the "E" in ONE. Yous is from Philadelphia, hence no mint mark.

Nice find!
oih82w8 = "Oh I Hate To Wait"

"I tell her coins keep me off the streets and out of the bars." Moe145

"WOO-SAA...WOo-SAa...Woo-Saa" (calm down)
Edited by oih82w8
02/23/2012 6:37 pm
Pillar of the Community
United States
4289 Posts
 Posted 02/23/2012  6:37 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add VisigothKing to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
That W has an A under it and they are the initials of the designer, Adolph Weinman. The mintmark would be on the reverse between the E in ONE and the branch, and since there is none it means that it was minted in Philadephia.
"For as long as Belisarius lives, it is impossible for him to relinquish this city." - Roman general Belisarius, responding to a group of Gothic envoys, during the Gothic siege of Rome in 537 AD