Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Coin Community Forum
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

I'm new to Ancients => what's the best reference catalogue?

Next Page    
To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2
Pillar of the Community
Learn More...
3352 Posts
 Posted 03/04/2012  09:11 am Show Profile Bookmark this topic Add stevex6 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message

I'm new to Ancients => what's the best reference catalogue?

CONTEXT:
Man, I never seem to learn! => once again, I've impulse-bought a bunch of coins ... this time I've stepped into your world (Ancients) ... now I'd like to find a reference catalogue and try to learn a bit more about these coins that I've already purchased (yes, I realize it is putting the cart before the horse) ... oh well, it's apparently how I roll!

For the record, I purchased the following 4 coins:

COIN #1:

Valentinian I, AE 19 mm
Minted AD 367--375
Obverse: D N VALENTINIANVS P F AVG, diademed, draped and cuirassed bust right
Reverse: GLORIA ROMANORVM, emperor walking right, head left, dragging captive and holding labarum, TES B in exergue
Weight: 2.7 g
Diameter: 19 mm
Reference: RIC IX Thessalonica 16a

COIN #2:
Ancient Roman Coinage of DIOCLETIAN
284-305 A.D.
Antoninianus, 22mm 3.81 g.
Rome Mint. Struck ca. 290 AD.
Obverse: IMP DIOCLE TIANVS AVG, radiate and cuirassed bust right.
Reverse: IOVI FV LGERATORI, Jupiter standing facing, head right, preparing to hurl thunderbolt; at feet to left, eagle standing left, head right; XXI - " in exergue. Ref. RIC V 168 var. (unlisted officina and with eagle). near XF, flan crack.

COIN #3:
ROMAN REPUBLIC ANCIENT COINAGE
C Servilius Vatia
127 BC. Rome Mint
AR (Silver) Denarius. 3.85g. 19mm.
Obverse: Winged, helmeted head of Roma right, lituus behind, ROMA below, * under chin.