Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Coin Community Forum
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Low SN on $2

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
Valued Member
United States
366 Posts
 Posted 03/06/2012  9:20 pm Show Profile Bookmark this topic Add RollSeeker to your friends list Get a Link to this Message

I got a 1976 $2 with an SN of B000002xx* (I just put x's where numbers are, no reason in particular). It's probably only in about Very Fine condition (although I'm a total newbie at currency grading) and has a medium sized tear near the center vertical fold. Any value on these sort of low SNs? I'm definitely keeping it for the cool factor anyway.

Learn More...
United States
14452 Posts
 Posted 03/06/2012  11:44 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add Bryan1315 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
that would be considered a low serial number but the condition would hold the value down quite a bit and may even make it worth very close to face value as probably not many collectors would want it in their collection in such rough shape. it is a shame because low serial numbe4rs like that are very collectible
Valued Member
United States
366 Posts
 Posted 03/06/2012  11:48 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add RollSeeker to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
I figured as much. Wish I could have saved Jefferson a decade or two earlier :)
Pillar of the Community
United States
2535 Posts
 Posted 03/10/2012  8:29 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add morgans dad to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
That s# in a quality note, big wampum........Nice find still......
  Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
To participate in the forum you must log in or register.