Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Coin Community Forum
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Need Help: How Can I Tell if Morgan is Genuine

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

United States
2 Posts
 Posted 03/25/2012  6:51 pm Show Profile Bookmark this topic Add neworchid to your friends list Get a Link to this Message

Hi everyone,
I'm a newbie to coin collecting, and I've read a few articles about ways to figure out whether a morgan coin is genuine or not.

I'm familiar with the weight test, the magnet test, the sound test, and am also mostly interested in morgans with the cartwheel luster.

My question is: If the coin is within the weight range (26.73 to 26.86g) and meets the other tests, and has cartwheel luster, is that enough to tell me that the coin is genuine?

Thanks!

Pillar of the Community
Learn More...
United States
1335 Posts
 Posted 03/25/2012  8:19 pm  Show Profile Check mdpmedia's eBay Listings Bookmark this reply Add mdpmedia to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Hello newo.,

I attached a couple of interesting and applicable sections found within a past CCF thread addressing counterfeits:

These were taken from:

http://www.coincommunity.com/forum/...chTerms=seam

Although this past discussion focused on a rare 1932-D silver US quarter the same type of counterfeit seams could appear in Morgans also.

Check out the doubled rim above the RTY of LIBERTY: characteristic of cast replicas shrinking when cooling down...

fyi,

mdpmedia
Pillar of the Community
United States
1392 Posts
 Posted 03/25/2012  11:20 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add SteveCaruso to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply