Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Coin Community Forum
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!
 All Forums
 General Numismatic Discussion Forums (Non Country Specific)
 Coin Photography

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.

Where do I start with these?

Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
AlmostCollectible
Valued Member
United States
384 Posts
 Posted 04/23/2011  05:24 am Show Profile Bookmark this topic Add AlmostCollectible to your friends list Get a Link to this Message

I am new to photography of coins. Infact I am a beginner with photography of any kind. By that I mean every picture I have ever taken on any camera has been in Automatic Mode. That works most of the time, but I realized it doesn't work with coins.

I posted a thread few days back, and I barely got any response on it, and I feel that was because of how the pictures came out. These are the very first pictures I ever took of my coins:

http://www.coincommunity.com/forum/...PIC_ID=86417

What can I do to make them better next time? Especially the old copper ones? How do I capture the details out of those? I don't even know where to start.

One more thing, the camera I have is Canon Powershot SD1400 IS. I don't know if that camera is any good for this kind of thing. I was having trouble with the camera going out of focus if I went too close to the coins. Now why would that happen?

Any and all help is appreciated.

Pillar Of The Community
United States
9881 Posts
 Posted 04/23/2011  06:49 am  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add John1 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
I am by no means a photographer but I do recommend that you take the coins out of the holders first. Why add more glare to the coin then you need to. There are a few photogs here on CCF and they will help you out soon.
John1
( I'm no pro, it's just my humble opinion )