Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Coin Community Forum
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!
 All Forums
 General Numismatic Discussion Forums (Non Country Specific)
 Third Party Coin Grading (TPG)

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.

I need a litte help with getting coins graded.

Next Page    
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2
yuengling101
Valued Member
United States
230 Posts
 Posted 01/11/2012  8:33 pm Show Profile Bookmark this topic Add yuengling101 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message

Well I am kinda new to coin collecting, been collecting for about a year now. Im at a point were I got a handfull of nice coins I would like to send out to get graded.I know theres Anacs and Ncg, but who is the best, what yearly plan would be best for some one who only plans to send about 10 coins a year in. I dont know any thing about the process, and when I looked at there websites it looks like I need to become a member before I find the stuff out. I could use all the help I can get.

Thank you
Ron

Pillar Of The Community
United States
2614 Posts
 Posted 01/12/2012  10:52 am  Show Profile Check SeatedNut's eBay Listings Bookmark this reply Add SeatedNut to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Ron,

For low volume I'd recommend ANACs because there is no membership fee. Both PCGS and NGC will get you for $50 right off the top.

As far as reputation is concerned, PCGS leads the pack and is followed in order by NGC, ANACs and ICG. I wouldn't recommend any but these four.

You don't have to be a member to submit to PCGS if you can find a dealer with a membership willing to submit for you. I've found this to be a big hassle and of course the dealer will add a surcharge to cover their costs.