Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Coin Community Forum
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

My Token/Medal Collection

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
Valued Member
Canada
271 Posts
 Posted 01/13/2012  07:46 am Show Profile Bookmark this topic Add OddCoins to your friends list Get a Link to this Message

What you're about to see is my entire collection of tokens, medal and other coinlike things that are (I assume) from before 1960. I've been collecting for a few years, but just started to narrow my field of interests down to tokens, medals and odd coins.
Any information you have about these tokens and medals would be really helpful, please tell me if I have something good!

Pillar of the Community
United States
1700 Posts
 Posted 01/13/2012  09:11 am  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add ExoGuy to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Welcome aboard. This is a great website for collectors, new and old.

Although I've collected tokens for many years, I've not before seen this one. I'm inclined to then suspect that it's a scarce item, maybe worth $10 or more? Perhaps some Canadian token collectors will chime in on this piece. It was likely holed to be worn, and a ribbon may have once been attached.

You might attach some history to it by Googling the Duke and reading about his visit to Canada in 1901. As that was the year of the Pan-American Exposition in Buffalo, your token/medalet may have been connected to that event as well; perhaps, sold or made there in Buffalo? Let's see what others may say ...
Pillar of the Community
Canada
2227 Posts
 Posted 01/13/2012  11:48 am  Show Profile Check chequer's eBay Listings Bookmark this reply Add chequer to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply