Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Coin Community Forum
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

new to coin collecting........

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

United States
1 Posts
 Posted 03/14/2012  2:25 pm Show Profile Bookmark this topic Add chyunlee to your friends list Get a Link to this Message

Hello everyone -

As the subject reads, I'm new to this field and wanted to get your thoughts on where to get educated in coin collecting. It would be great if you can point me to an online reference. Also, what your recommendations are for the first purchase -- from an investment perspective. Silver? Gold? Pros / cons for each.

Thank you in advance for your time.

*** Moved by Staff to a more appropriate forum. ***

Valued Member
United States
162 Posts
 Posted 03/14/2012  2:57 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add ZiggyZ to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply

Where to get educated? Right here! You'll learn an awful lot just hanging around the site, reading forums, and asking questions when you have them.
Pillar of the Community
United States
2584 Posts
 Posted 03/14/2012  2:59 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add Jayman931 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
to the forum!

You have asked a lot of questions with a lot to consider. I have learned the most in regards to coins actually from this site. There is a ton of information on this site as well as a lot of people with many many years of experience.

I bought the " Red Book" which is a price guide to all US Coins because that is what I am mostly collecting. Specifically I am making an album of all Lincoln Cents in MS condition. I also "Coin Roll Hunt" and look for mint errors.

You really can start with any denomination to start collecting. It is personal preference.