Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Coin Community Forum
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Coin Pics W/ Cheap Equipment

Next Page    
To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2
Pillar of the Community
Canada
1166 Posts
 Posted 04/08/2011  10:04 pm Show Profile Bookmark this topic Add ikandiggit to your friends list Get a Link to this Message

I've posted this on other forums as a teaching aid for members who need to photograph coins but don't have access to high-end equipment.

The pics I've taken below were shot quickly just to illustrate the point that even without expensive equipment it is still possible to get relatively decent shots.

Had I taken a little more time, used a tripod, a couple of lights, I could have had far sharper pics. But the whole idea was that if I was a novice, there is still a way to get suitable pics for posting on the forum.

They are uncropped and the only adjustment was the contrast setting.

I've got a Sony Cybershot DSC-H50 (9.1) and a Kodak CX6330 (3.1). Because I'm familiar with my Kodak, that's generally what I use for taking my pics for posting.

What I've done here, just to show what is possible with a cheap camera and a loupe and a eyepiece from a broken video camera. I took these pics quickly without a tripod and only one desk lamp with a 60 watt bulb.

Pic #1 was taken with the macro setting at the widest angle (no zoom).

Pic #2 was taken with the macro setting at maximum (optical) zoom:

Pic #3 was taken with macro at maximum zoom through a 2.5X loupe:

Pic #4 was taken with macro at maximum zoom through an eyepiece from a broken video camera:

This is the equipment:

My lighting set-up for most shots:

A few other examples:

Pillar of the Community
United States
737 Posts