Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Coin Community Forum
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!
 All Forums
 US Coins and Currency Discussion Forums
 US Classic Coins

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.

US coins what to collect?

Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
drkrish21
Valued Member
India
78 Posts
 Posted 02/26/2012  5:38 pm Show Profile Bookmark this topic Add drkrish21 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message

I am from India , and new to US coin collections of most of you.But I am really interested to know how people from US decide on what to collect..I have seen saw many people in this community putting up quarters, dimes of different years and different heads...but what are the things you look in a coin before you put it in your collection...Please guys be more basic and specific in explaining, I am really new to US coins and US coinage history.
And what is your suggestion to a guy planning to collect US coins, how will you advice him what to collect?
Thanks

Pillar Of The Community
United States
12275 Posts
 Posted 02/26/2012  5:54 pm  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add just carl to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply

I would normally give you some comical reply but since your in India, I guess you need an honest reply so you don't think we are all nuts.
However, your asking difficult question. Collecting coins is really supposed to be a hobby and for enjoyment. Of course there are many that do this for a possible profit. But if you don't plan on selling coins, then the only important thing would be to collect what you like and can afford.