Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Coin Community Forum
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Lincoln Memorial Pennies - New to collecting

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

United States
2 Posts
 Posted 03/10/2012  11:23 pm Show Profile Bookmark this topic Add nmwald1 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message

Hi there
I'm new to the world of collecting and decided for the simplicity to start collecting Lincoln pennies. I picked up four different Whitman coin holder books. Two of them were for the Lincoln Memorial cent.

I'm having a hard time distinguishing between the memorial cents and the regular ones, other than obviously the Wheat cent design. Going through my question the majority of pennies I've now filled my regular Lincoln Cent books also carry the FG marking on the right side of the memorial. Am I right in thinking that each of these memorial years these were the only pennies released and will all have the FG on them or is there some difference in the memorial coins that I'm missing?

Thanks for your time and patience with this question

Sincerely

Nathan

Bedrock of the Community
Learn More...
United States
10882 Posts
 Posted 03/11/2012  04:25 am  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add John1 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
to CCF Nathan. If you click on US Coin Facts in the left hand column and then on Lincoln Memorial Cents you will find some information.
John1
( I'm no pro, it's just my humble opinion )
Pillar of the Community
Canada
1280 Posts
 Posted 03/11/2012  08:38 am  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add mcshilling to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Bedrock of the Community
United States
11197 Posts