Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Oversized 1913 V Nickel.early Commemorative? Copy?

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 10 / Views: 507Next Topic  

United States
24 Posts
 Posted 07/05/2022  3:44 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add Tipton444 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Hi all,

Just wondering if anyone can tell me more about this coin. It's an oversized, 38mm wide, 1913 V nickel, and obviously it's not a real 1913 V nickel, but I can't seem to find any like this one (although I'm a relatively novice collector)... All the 1913 V nickels I found were commemorative with the word "COPY" clearly on it, or they were made of 999 silver and marked as such. I can't seem to find another one that is this large, 38mm (or 37.95mm to be exact), and looks old like this one. A person passed and the family had me go through some of his old coins, and there was quite a few early silver dollars and this random V nickel...

I'm guessing this is absolutely worthless and just another commemorative without the word copy, or just a bad fake, but I just wanted to make sure they didn't make early commemoratives say prior to 1950 or something like that. I placed a real V nickel next to it for a size comparison. Any help would be appreciated, and I apologize if this is a complete waste of time!

Eric

Bedrock of the Community
Learn More...
United States
17910 Posts
 Posted 07/05/2022  4:01 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add T-BOP to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Not a commemorative but a novelty piece probably made with junk metal .

In Memory of Butch L.
and Jim U. rest in peace .
United States
41 Posts