Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Need Help With 2022 Wmk Quarter

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 15 / Views: 388Next Topic  
United States
4 Posts
 Posted 08/15/2022  03:59 am Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add Pipesmith581 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
I'm new at this and I'm not sure if this would be considered an error or if it's a verity please any advice will be appreciated.

First picture shows the area in question the flat spot and the second picture shows what supposed to be normal .
Bedrock of the Community
United States
46461 Posts
 Posted 08/15/2022  04:12 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add John1 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
( I'm no pro, it's just my humble opinion )
Searched 6.5 +/- Million Cents Since 1971
Pillar of the Community
Learn More...
United States
3611 Posts
 Posted 08/15/2022  06:02 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Yokozuna to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
to the CCF!

We need to see full images of both sides of each coin that you post and then maybe a closeup of the area in question.

This is a great closeup of your coin and I think I can see what happened. The area just in front of Washington's eye is on the same plane as the fields in front of his nose. It looks like the die used to strike the coin had been polished, maybe to remove a die clash, and some of the detail was removed in the process.

I'd love to see the full coin image to see if it might show other signs of being struck with a polished or clashed die.

Nice catch and keep posting your finds!
ANA ID: 3203813 - CONECA ID: N-5637