Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Canadian Quarters with the P

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Canada
2 Posts
 Posted 06/09/2018  1:12 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add lesley7uk to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Hi I am totally new to the coin collection thing so you will have to excuse my lack of knowledge here.

I have been putting away Canadian quarters from the 2000 range for a while and have a handful that have the letter P under the queen. What is the tell tell sign that any of these are worth anything?

I also have an 1807 Britannia Penny

I have no idea when I see something I decide to keep, it will just look interesting to me and I hold onto it.
Like an American 2005 Quarter dollar Liberty and California 1850 on the reverse

Thanks everyone and would appreciate any feed back
Pillar of the Community
Learn More...
Canada
5139 Posts
Pillar of the Community
Learn More...
Canada
4953 Posts
 Posted 06/09/2018  3:51 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add JimmyD to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
First of all-
to the community
Feel free to ask any question you may have as there is someone here who can help.

To answer your questions-
The "P" on the quarters stands for plated to signify the new multi-plated coins issued for circulation between 2001 and 2006 so there is no extra value.

The California Quarter is one a series known as the "State Series" issued between 1999-2008 when there was a different issue for each of the 50 states. As there was between 500 million and 1 billion of each state minted, there is
no extra value for these in circulated condition.