Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Some Coins Recently Found Were Cleaned. How Much Potencial % Value Was Lost

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Portugal
3 Posts
 Posted 06/10/2019  06:38 am Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add coin2324 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Hello.
A brief introduction on the situation.
I'm new to Numismatic and coins and recently "burried" in some closet in my home, together with a bunch of other worthless coins were found some gold coins, probably passed from 1-2 generations to my father that didnt even know he had them, maybe had them for so long he didnt even remembre anymore or just careless, who knows, anyway.

The basic idea after seperating the oldest coins from the apperant "worthless " coins was to clean them at the time, since no one at the house had any knowledge on coins and such. clean must value more and show more value right? ye after some days Reading we already understand we made a huge mistake, fortunaly this are made from gold so the basic material holds its value at the very least. I think, its still a shame what happened. (If wondering how was the cleaning done, just neutral soap and water, I know, it is still pretty bad , but could be worse).

So here is are questions if someone is willing to help me.

based on this 2 samples of this 2 diferent coins , how much value was lost from a numismatic point of view?