Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Need Some Help Identifying A 1976 Nickel, Looks Like It Is Copper

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 7 / Views: 394Next Topic  

United States
2 Posts
 Posted 01/14/2020  04:19 am Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add jm428 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Hey all, I'm new here and hope this is the right place to post this..

I have very little experience with coins, but maybe just a bit more than the next guy throwing his jar into the coinstar. I always keep an eye out for anything that looks off, dates, or if a coin is actual silver...etc..

Anyway, I came across this nickel the other day and can't seem to find much of anything about it through google, or searching the forums here. Hoping I didn't just overlook it and start a thread for nothing..

Well here it is. 1976 Jefferson nickel, no mint mark, same color as a penny. Could just be me, but I think the 976 in the date look a bit thicker than the rest, including the 1. Not sure if that means anything, or if anying else is off at all.

Any opinions/input/advice is much appreciated! Thanks in advance.

Hope the pictures are clear enough. If any more are needed let me know!!

Pillar of the Community
United States
4054 Posts
 Posted 01/14/2020  04:53 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Jim0815 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
What is the weight? And all fairness it may be plated or environmental toning or someone painted it.
Edited by Jim0815
01/14/2020 04:54 am
Valued Member
United States
269 Posts
 Posted 01/14/2020  04:54 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add TwistedTrader to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply