Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Reprocessed 43 Steel Cents With Offset Rim?

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 10 / Views: 508Next Topic  
United States
4 Posts
 Posted 01/14/2021  11:25 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add Vervain to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
I bought a set of steel cents on EBay and when I received them they were extremely shiny. I contacted the seller and was advised they were reprocessed (not in description of product). Upon further inspection I noticed they have an offset rim and words. It's not far off the planchet (hope I am spelling that correctly as I am new to this). Can anyone tell me if that is normal with these coins? If not with them being reprocessed does that hurt the value? Thank you so much for the information.
Valued Member
United States
69 Posts
 Posted 01/15/2021  12:24 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Ghawk to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Well that's not right. Them being reprocessed certainly should have been in the description. Usually you can tell from pictures that they have been but at times it can be difficult. But unfortunately, they are considered damaged coins now.
As far as the rim and letters being offset. It would have to be quite significant to have any real value. We would love to see pictures though to confirm. There are good instructions and tips in one of the forums dedicated to help take quality pictures.
Edited by Ghawk
01/15/2021 12:26 am
United States
4 Posts
 Posted 01/15/2021  12:31 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Vervain to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply