Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

My Classic Silver Commem Type Set

Next Page | Last 15 Replies

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 17 / Views: 788Next Topic
Page: of 2
Valued Member
Learn More...
United States
225 Posts
 Posted 01/15/2021  02:15 am Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add Winesteven to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
I'm a newbie to the CCF, and just started reading several of the posts in this Forum. What fascinating, valuable, and interesting knowledge @commems shares with us! Thank you!

Like many of you, I was drawn to Classic Commems by the diversity of designs, the artistry, and wonderful fascinating stories behind each coin.

While most collectors prefer their silver coins to have toning, and that demonstrates "originality", I'm part of the silent but somewhat large group that prefers instead highly lustrous and untoned coins, especially 20th century silver. Yes, I recognize most of the coins in my set must have been dipped, but apparently gently enough that CAC would still apply their sticker. Being in this untoned state allows the coin to appear close to the way it was as the designers envisioned as they came off the press.

I hope I'm not breaking a rule, but since I am NOT a consignor, and know of no consignors, I just want to bring to your attention that Heritage is having a VERY large sale of Commems ending tonight.

Here's a hotlink to my set (despite my comment above regarding untoned coins, you'll see the very first one, the Isabella Quarter, is heavily toned, lol):

https://www.PCGS.com/setregistry/co...edset/189058