Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Tips For Getting Started With Canadian Roll Hunting

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 13 / Views: 453Next Topic  
Canada
15 Posts
 Posted 01/16/2021  7:58 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add Canadianpennyman to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Hi,
I'm new to the adventure of roll hunting (searching through rolls/boxes of coins) and was hoping some experienced hunters could share some tips. I'm only interested in Canadian coins. The other day my 5 year-old son and I found a 1961 quarter so now we're hooked. I know that the easy part is to look for silvers but I'm not sure how to proceed past that. Some of my specific questions:
1. Do you look at every year or do you have a list of the years that may have varieties/errors worth looking for (and if so, is there anyone who could share this list)? For example, if you're going through a roll of nickels, are you searching for certain years that might be interesting and then focus on those or are you examining every single coin in the roll?
2. Are there certain denominations that yield better finds (nickels vs quarters vs pennies etc.)

Thanks very much for any help you can provide.
Pillar of the Community
Learn More...
Canada
8281 Posts
 Posted 01/16/2021  8:15 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add DBM to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
"Dipping" is not considered cleaning...
-from PCGS website
Canada
15 Posts
 Posted 01/16/2021  9:00 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Canadianpennyman to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply