Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest! Check out our Google+!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

1927 South Africa Sixpence Lettering fault?  

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

United Kingdom
6 Posts
 Posted 07/12/2011  01:40 am Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add macartr2 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
I am totally new to the world of coin collecting and only got interested last week when given a box of old/new coins to sell on eBay by a family member.
When composing the photo of the SA 1927 sixpence I noticed the lettering on the head was joined along the "ORGI" in George. Is this a common error, and could someone please tell me what sort of error it is?
Does this type of fault add any value to a coin?
Thanks for taking time to read this post, and for any advice given - like I said I am a newbie.

Richard
Bedrock of the Community
Australia
14000 Posts
 Posted 07/12/2011  03:38 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add sel_69l to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
mecartr2: Welcome to the CCF!

What you are referring to here is an image on the coin of a crack in the die which struck the coin. (die crack error)

This coin is an error coin, and a reasonably nice one at that!

Die cracks are not supposed to happen and are scarce, but they are not excessively rare.
United Kingdom
6 Posts
 Posted 07/12/2011  03:55 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add macartr2 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply