Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

English Hammered Silver Identification - Edwardian?

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 6 / Views: 476Next Topic  
United States
43 Posts
 Posted 01/30/2022  2:02 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add chirrrs to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
I have three coins here that appear to be English hammered silver, possibly all from Edward I-IV. I looked at some that I believe were from a Henry and there were some similarities on at least one of these. I'm pretty new to ancients and medievals, so I have tried just using online resources so far. I haven't yet bought any books as I'm still trying to figure out what I would like to focus on. I'm also a little concerned about the authenticity of these, because while they're certainly not expensive, they just don't sound like silver to me. They have no ring to them. Would I be able to test these on a sigma tester? Anyway, here are the coins and what my best guesses are, hopefully this forum can shed some light on these. If additional photos or closeups are needed, let me know and I can take more!

#1 - Edward I (Canterbury)
This is the one I feel the most sure about. Legends are pretty legible and I was able to read CANTOR on the reverse.

#2 - Unknown
I can't read anything of the legends on this one, as it seems to have been smashed pretty good. Based on the cross and reverse design, it looks like maybe Edward I or II?

#3 - Unknown