Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

1925 And 1946 Pennies

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 12 / Views: 1,646Next Topic  

Australia
36 Posts
 Posted 04/22/2012  09:40 am Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add Nick01 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Just curious...

Anybody here know if the 1925 and 1946 Australian pennies are rare in any way?

I inherited a pre-decimal coin collection folder (from Pa) and it says that there weren't many pennies made in these years...

This maybe a silly question, but I noticed that sometimes.. The amount of coins minted doesn't have much to do with how rare they are or what the value is.

Just curious.. I am new to the pre-decimal type coins :(
Pillar of the Community
Australia
1607 Posts
 Posted 04/22/2012  10:17 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add appleangel07 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
The 1925 is the 2nd rarest & the 1946 is the 3rd rarest pennies,very rare in high end grades.
Australia
36 Posts
 Posted 04/22/2012  10:54 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Nick01 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Oh :O ... I didn't know that 1920 is the 2nd rarest coin! :O

Thankyou :) ... Not sure about the grade though.. I'd have to post a pic or something.
Pillar of the Community
Australia
4411 Posts
 Posted 04/22/2012  4:35 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add enworb to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Please post pictures so people can give a better indication of value but the 1925 is in most cases worth at least $100 and the 1946 at least $50. Grade is obviously important and prices increase hugely at the nicer end of the scale.
Australia