Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

1909 Indian Head cent - grading help

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
Pillar of the Community

United States
553 Posts
 Posted 07/07/2018  11:24 am Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add StJoeBlues to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
I was at my parent's house a few days ago, 600+ miles away, and my mom asks "Have I shown you grandpa's coins?" She's had them for 20 years and this is the first I've heard of them? Anyway, one of them is a 1909 IHC that a local "expert" called uncirculated. I'm not an expert on grading IHCs, but I'm not convinced it is. I'd say it's definitely a red, not RB, based on what I know from Lincolns.

Of course I wasn't prepared to take coin pictures, so I snapped a few pictures with my cell phone, which isn't the best, and was hoping they were good enough for review here. Please let me know what you think. They're through a hard plastic case, and the scratches are on the case.

I'm not sure what the green is on the ribbon and on the "N". It doesn't show up in hand, so it might be a reflection. I had another blurry picture of the reverse and it's not on that one.
Valued Member
United States
363 Posts
 Posted 07/07/2018  11:27 am  Show Profile   Check Buckwill311's eBay Listings Bookmark this reply Add Buckwill311 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
It appears to have uncirculated or About Uncirculated detail, but unfortunately it looks like it has been dipped. The color just looks unnatural to me, but then again it could be the reflection.
College bound
Lehigh University '2022
Pillar of the Community
United States
6009 Posts