Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

2003-P Lincoln Cent Unplated Planchet

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

United States
17 Posts
 Posted 08/09/2018  1:44 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add Achilles to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Not too familiar with these, to me it looks like an unplated planchet. It's not pitted as it was given an acid bath.

Bedrock of the Community
United States
24039 Posts
 Posted 08/09/2018  2:22 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add John1 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Looks more like environmental damage.
John1
( I'm no pro, it's just my humble opinion )
Searched 5+ Million Cents Since 1971
United States
17 Posts
 Posted 08/09/2018  2:31 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Achilles to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
What would do that? There's not a speck of copper on this thing.
Bedrock of the Community
10197 Posts
 Posted 08/09/2018  2:43 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Crazyb0 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Give me an accurate weight in the hundredths, (0.01 etc.)...it does look promising to be a true unplated blank/planchet, BUT the detail is too sharp, it could be an electroplated stripped coin (see all the DIY YouTube Vids). If it is 2.25-2.35gr, that just indicates plating loss. If 2.4-2.6, is just discolored.
United States
17 Posts
 Posted 08/09/2018  2:56 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Achilles to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Crazyb0, thanks for the weight indicator. I will weigh and post by 5pm.