Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

5 Dollars 1977 Jamaica - Matte finish value

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
Valued Member
United States
230 Posts
 Posted 12/05/2018  9:25 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add vb3347 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
I have what appears to be a 5 Dollar 1977 Jamaica coin in the very rare matte finish, only 56 minted according to Krause. So my questions are:

1) Is it really a matte finish or just a regular uncirculated? Looks to be matte (appearance is silky), but I'm far from an expert and don't have much experience with this particular series.

2) What would the approximate value be on this coin? I've searched a bit but haven't found a comparable matte finish coin of any year in this denomination.

Also, any other comments or additional information regarding this coin are appreciated.

Edited by vb3347
12/05/2018 9:27 pm
Valued Member
Australia
269 Posts
 Posted 12/06/2018  01:17 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add ryurazu to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Usally proofs, are mirror surface proofs (BU), are they more valuable when they are matted well depends on demand no demand then price aint going to be different from intrinsic value just like with any other coin. no matter how rare.
Bedrock of the Community
United States
24675 Posts
 Posted 12/06/2018  07:32 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add John1 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Looks like it is in a 2x2 holder? If so,please remove before taking photos.
Even the special unc is a low mintage. I found this for an idea on value https://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_so...256&_fosrp=1
John1