Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

1936 Canada One Cent - Error Coin?

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Canada
9 Posts
 Posted 12/11/2018  8:14 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add JayJay1 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
I am new to coin collections and recently inherited a coin collection. I found a 1936 Canadian Penny (no dot) however,I believe it may be an error coin?

It is rather thin in its width and has no outer ridge around the circumference of the penny. Its also somewhat concaved outward to the head side of the coin. The head side is also blurred, while the other side is quite detailed.

Any advice comments are appreciated.

Pillar of the Community
Canada
4301 Posts
 Posted 12/11/2018  8:16 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add john100 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Weight would help ?
Pillar of the Community
Canada
649 Posts
 Posted 12/11/2018  8:21 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add johnnysprawl to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply

Looks like an acid-dipped coin...mushy king, smaller diameter, etc.
So no, unfortunately not an error.

http://www.error-ref.com/acid-shrunk-coins/
Canada
9 Posts
 Posted 12/12/2018  07:20 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add JayJay1 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Thanks johnnysprawl...i wasn't aware of acid dipped coins.