Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

First Pics With My USB Plugable

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 7 / Views: 908Next Topic  
Valued Member
United States
114 Posts
 Posted 05/10/2019  12:42 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add ACWhammy to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Hi all,

This is my first attempt at taking coin pictures. The problem with the USB Plugable is that it doesn't zoom out or zoom in so I have to place it far away from the coin. The larger the coin, the further away I have to place the camera.

For the Philharmonic, Maple Leaf, Britannia, and Krugerrand, I took the pictures in my house at night time (no daylight was shining through the windows), and I used the camera's light at about 75% while placing a shaded lamp over the camera to provide better light. I'm mostly happy with the way these turned out.

However, on the Taku, Panda, and South Korean coin, I took those pictures during the day (daylight was shining through the room), and I had to move the camera even further up since these coins were slightly bigger. I tried the same lighting set up with the shaded lamp but it still didn't look good, so I used a Halo Floodlight instead. I wasn't happy with these pictures.

What are your thoughts on these pictures, and do you have any idea why the latter 3 coin pics didn't turn out as well?

AC

Pillar of the Community
United States
4209 Posts
 Posted 05/10/2019  2:57 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add fioti to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
I'm using the same, but your images are far superior to mine. Nice!
Learn More...
United States
87505 Posts
Pillar of the Community
Canada
5338 Posts