Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Working For PCGS ....suggestions?

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
Pillar of the Community
United States
835 Posts
 Posted 05/14/2019  01:32 am Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add coins92 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
So I've been collecting for about 12 years now. One of my real passions is United States numismatics. I finished college with a degree in economics and political science. I am a year out of college and really want to pursue something I enjoy. I am 26 years old. I plan on flying to the Longbeach Coin Show June 5th. Any advice for me in my path of pursuing a grading career?
Pillar of the Community
United States
4489 Posts
 Posted 05/14/2019  02:06 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add westernsky to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Hopefully you can get your foot in the door if that's what you want to try. I doubt if they hire rookies as front line graders though.

You might be better off starting out with one of the big auction firms to get your feet wet and build your industry reputation and contact list. Once others see your knowledge base expand the doors will start opening...even the door to the grading room!

I would imagine the coin business, including TPG, is like a lot of careers in that it can get boring quick, the hours can be long and it is subject to burnout after a few years.

Good luck and let us know how it goes.

Pillar of the Community
Learn More...
United States
9816 Posts
 Posted 05/14/2019  02:53 am  Show Profile   Check spruett001's eBay Listings Bookmark this reply Add spruett001 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply