Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

2000 P & 2000 D Sacagawea Dollar Re-grade?

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

United States
2 Posts
 Posted 09/20/2019  5:37 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add 2cents4dollars to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Hello,

I am an absolute newbie when it comes to coin collecting, but I have found a revitalizing sudden interest in the study of money and coins. My interest is not necessarily for the collector aspect, but mainly for the monetary rewards and the "joy of the hunt."

I know that this probably wasn't the best idea to begin with, but I purchased (2) Sacagewea dollars from a local pawn shop. Both are in really good condition. They are incapsulated in SGS plastic grading containers. Both graded MS70:

One is a 2000 P -No injured eagle...no cheerios

One is a 2000 D

Based off of auctions from PCGS it seems these coins could be valuable if they rated near the MS70 mark.

My question is...Should I resubmit the coins for regrading, then perhaps send them to Heritage Auctions? Side note: These are my 1st (2) mint purchased coins, so any suggestions for auction houses or assistance with the process would be greatly appreciated.

oh...I paid $16 for both coins. good/bad?

Thanks for all your input!

Edited by 2cents4dollars
09/20/2019 5:39 pm
Pillar of the Community
United States
5451 Posts
 Posted 09/20/2019  5:57 pm  Show Profile   Check GrapeCollects's eBay Listings Bookmark this reply Add GrapeCollects to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
SGS is a garbage grading company. In all reality a SGS MS70 is a PCGS MS65. Not worth it, leave your money